About Dayna


About Me…

Hi I’m Dayna!

I am a Child and Teen Therapist.

I love working with both of these age groups. They energize and inspire me.

I began working as a counselor in 2003 immediately after finishing up my Bachelor’s Degree and worked towards obtaining my Master’s Degree during that time. I gained so much experience working with young people and their families.

But that’s not why I chose to work with this population.


I actually spent a little time working with the elderly population as a Social Worker, and when I initially started my Private Practice, I thought I wanted to work with adults again.

But adults aren’t my calling! Children and Teens are!

Why, you ask…

Because all the struggles I see your child or teen go through, I can relate to. I struggled with so many problems as a young person, and the one thing I needed was a strong adult to support me through those struggles. However, there were few to be found. I know from experience what your child or teen needs in this process. I go about therapy as first a supportive adult in their life, and then we start working on the stuff that will change their lives for the better. I also urge parents to be highly involved in the process of their child or teen’s therapy. Without you there supporting them, they will struggle to be successful.

And a parent’s goal is for their child to become a strong, successful adult one day!

Children and teens need parent support! I can show you how to do this unconditionally.

I am also a mom. And I wouldn’t teach you to do anything with your child or teen that I haven’t or wouldn’t do with my own kids.

Parenting is hard work, even for Me (a therapist). It is not a completely natural ability we obtain magically when we have children. It is a role we have to work at daily. And it’s hard work! Being a parent is one of the hardest jobs you will take on in your life.

I love watching children work through their issues in play therapy. It’s an amazing tool I use with young children.

I love connecting with your teen. Supporting and encouraging them while teaching them how to solve their own problems along the way.

I love hearing from parents that I am working with that their teen is talking to them and smiling more!

I love watching parents reach that Aha! moment where they are ready to change how they are managing their parenting role.

I am the only therapist in my area, and the only therapist who offers play therapy within miles.

Now for the boring information about me…

I have training and experience in Play Therapy, Teen Mood Issues, School Problems, Anxiety in Children and Teens, Selective Mutism, Depression, Self-harm/Self Destructive Behaviors, Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, Multi-Systemic Therapy, Trauma-Focused CBT, Christian Counseling, Independent Living Support for Young Adults, and Parent Coaching and Support.

I received my B.S.W. in Social Work at Middle Tennessee State University in 2002 and was blessed with the opportunity to jump right into a career at Youth Villages working as an In-home Family Counselor. This job equipped me for my specialty in teenage issues and parent training. I worked there for 7 years in several different positions to include In-home Family Counselor, Crisis Counselor, In-home and Transitional Living Supervisor, and Clinical Consultant and Trainer for the Middle Tennessee Region.

While working at Youth Villages, I started attending Argosy University where I obtained my M.A. in Professional Counseling and worked to complete requirements for my License in Professional Counseling, which I completed in 2010.

I left my position as Clinical Consultant to focus on my family as a stay-at-home mom with my new-born baby girl and my 4 year old son and began building my private practice which is now Gordonsville Counseling and Play Therapy. In 2015, I began honing my skills in play therapy and worked with a Licensed Supervisor to obtain requirements for certification as a Registered Play Therapist. I am currently focusing on completing this credential.

And a few FUN FACTS about me…

I LOVE Reading and writing. I’m known for reading several different books at the same time.
My favorite thing to do is hang out with my hubby and 2 children.
I enjoy going to the movies or playing outside with my kids
I’m a runner and ran my first half-marathon in 2016!
I long for Sunday afternoon naps!
I live in Smith County with my husband and 2 children. We live on a farm with our 2 dogs, cats, chickens, and surrounded by cows.

Email, Call, or Schedule a 15 minute phone consultation.